Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


List of Vice Presidents-Deputy Presidents of Kenya

List of Vice Presidents-Deputy Presidents of Kenya. The Deputy President of Kenya (formerly the Vice-President of Kenya) is the second-highest executive official in the Kenyan government. The Deputy President is the principal assistant of the President and deputises for the President in executive functions. Prior to the 2010 Constitution of Kenya, the Deputy President was known as the Vice President. While the Vice President was appointed by the President, the Deputy President is elected as part of a joint ticket with the President of Kenya he or she serves. In addition, unlike the previous situation where the Vice President would usually have a Cabinet Ministry to hold, the Deputy President is not permitted to hold any other state or public office.

There has been one vacancy in the office, fromList of Vice Presidents-Deputy Presidents of Kenya. The Deputy President of Kenya (formerly the Vice-President of Kenya) is the second-highest executive official in the Kenyan government. January 8, 1998 until April 3, 1999. Two of Kenya’s Vice Presidents, Mwai Kibaki and Daniel Moi have gone on to serve as President. William Ruto served as Acting President for a few days after President Uhuru Kenyatta temporarily transferred his powers and office to appear before the International Criminal Court

The Vice-President of Kenya office has been held by the following:

Jaramogi Oginga Odinga (1964–1965)

Appointed Minister without portfolio in 1965. Jaramogi Ajuma Oginga Odinga was a Luo chieftain who became a prominent figure in Kenya’s struggle for independence. He later served as Kenya’s first Vice-President, and thereafter as opposition leader.

Joseph Murumbi (1965–1967)

Joseph Zuzarte Murumbi was a Kenyan politician who was the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kenya from 1964 to 1966, and its second Vice-President between May and December 1966.

Daniel arap Moi (1967–1978)

Daniel Toroitich arap Moi was a Kenyan statesman and politician who was the second and longest-serving President of Kenya from 1978 to 2002. He previously served as the third Vice President of Kenya from 1967 to 1978, and succeeded President Jomo Kenyatta following the latter’s death.

Mwai Kibaki (1978–1988)

Emilio Stanley Mwai Kibaki better known as Mwai Kibaki, is a Kenyan politician who served as the third President of Kenya from December 2002 until April 2013. He had previously served as the fourth Vice-President of Kenya for ten years from 1978 to 1988 under President Daniel arap Moi.

Josephat Karanja (1988)

Dr. Josephat Njuguna Karanja was the fifth Vice-President of the Republic of Kenya between 1988 and 1989. He resigned to avoid an ongoing vote-of-no-confidence in the Kenyan Parliament. He was accused by the now late Hon.

George Saitoti (1988–1997, 1998–2002)

George Musengi Saitoti, E.G.H. (3 August 1945 – 10 June 2012) was a Kenyan politician, businessman and American- and British-trained economist, mathematician and development policy thinker.

As a mathematician, Saitoti served as Head of the Mathematics Department at the University of Nairobi, pioneered the founding of the African Mathematical Union and served as its Vice-President from 1976 to 1979.

Saitoti joined politics as a nominated Member of Parliament and Minister for Finance in 1983, rising to become Kenya’s longest-serving Vice-President, a proficient Minister for education, Internal Security and Provincial Administration and Foreign Affairs. Few recognise him as a “reformist”, but his recommendations as the Chair of the KANU Review Committee, popularly known as the “Saitoti Committee” in 1990–91, opened KANU to internal changes and set the stage for the repeal of Section 2A and Kenya’s return to pluralist democracy. Saitoti left KANU and joined the opposition, becoming a kingpin figure in the negotiations that led to the “NARC Revolution” in 2002. As Minister for Internal Security and Provincial Administration, Acting Minister for Foreign Affairs and key member of the National Security Advisory Committee (NSAC), he later worked closely with the national Ministry of Defence to see through the Operation Linda Nchi against the Al-Shabaab insurgent group. In addition, rival factions had for decades invoked the infamous Goldenberg fraud to knock Saitoti out of politics, but the legal courts cleared him of the scandal in July 2006

Wycliffe Musalia Mudavadi (2002)

Wycliffe Musalia Mudavadi is a Kenyan politician, who served as the seventh Vice President of Kenya in 2002 and as Deputy Prime Minister from 2008- 2012 May when he resigned officially to join the presidential race

Michael Kijana Wamalwa (2003–2004)

Michael Christopher Kijana Wamalwa was a Kenyan politician and at the time of his death, was serving as the eighth Vice-President of Kenya.

Moody Awori (2004–2007)

Arthur Moody Awori, known as “Uncle Moody”, is a former Kenyan politician who served as the ninth Vice President of Kenya from 25 September 2003 to 9 January 2008. He is also the author of Riding on a Tiger, an autobiography about his life in politics.

Kalonzo Musyoka (2007–2012)

Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka is a Kenyan politician who was the tenth Vice-President of Kenya from 2008 to 2013.

William Ruto (2013–)

Dr William Samoei Arap Ruto known as William Ruto, is a Kenyan politician, serving as Deputy President of Kenya since September 2013. Ruto served as the Acting President of Kenya between 6 and 8 October 2014 when President Uhuru Kenyatta was at the International Criminal Court, in The Hague, Netherlands.

Photos of all Kenyan Vice presidents and their time of service

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Contact Us

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)


    Your Message

    You May Also Like


    Tanzanian Musician Diamond Platnumz, Chibu Ndangote’ character unveiled. The bongo star, who is featured in a reality show, Young, Famous & African has been...


    Amber Ray is a content creator, Influencer, socialite, and a mom. The gorgeous mom of one is still single despite being dangerously beautiful. Below...


    Purity Vishenwa, known by her social media name as Pritty Vishy is a content creator. She is widely known to have dated the sensational...


    Is Diana Marua Pregnant with baby number 3? Diana Marua aka Diana B and wife to Singer Bahati is possibly pregnant. The content creator...